Arriving

It takes time to arrive in a new place. I guess that’s what I’ve been doing my first month in Cape Town. A step or two into the unknown, get comfortable and then continue. There is no point in pushing myself. There are limits to the speed I can go, as I discovered when I came down with a cold.

It’s like a roller coaster at times; the joy of living in this stunning city and the beauty all around, followed by the effort to manage so many things on my own.

However, I’m not really alone and people I hardly know have been a huge help. It is actually quite amazing where I’m at one month down the road. I impress myself.

I now own a car, have insurance and can drive without the GPS all the time. I’ve found a great flat, close to the sea, and my furniture and goods arrive April 28, right in time for moving. How perfect is that.

I’ve been to the repertoire cinema, the theatre, lots of coffee shops and I’ve discovered some beautiful beaches, including the official nudist beach.

While work still overwhelms, I’m getting better at focusing on one thing at a time. It’s Easter weekend, a 4-day break from work and a good chance for more discovering. Here are some shots from the top of Table Mountain.

20140419-095951.jpg

20140419-100016.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arriving

  1. Mitchell Goodman says:

    Get the guest room ready šŸ™‚

  2. looks gorgeous! Is it fall there now? does it ever get cold?

  3. Ruth says:

    Dearest Patty, I am amazed as usual. I should leave my comfort zone also … Sometimes I feel very close to just jumping … but probably into another comfort zone. I doubt that I could be as adventurous as you are!

Leave a comment